au pairs · Australia · Gold Coast · Travel

WEEK 28- I LOVE THE GOLD COAST. I’M NEVER COMING HOME.

I know i’ve missed a week, there’s no need to throw those scornful looks my way. Unlike last time when I went AWOL for a month because I was having a quarter life crisis, was working too much and had no time to think about sitting down for and hour to write this. This time, and don’t be offended, i’ve just had better things to do. As you know from my last post, and if you follow me on all the social medias, which i’m sure you do, I moved. I packed up my life, again, and hopped on a plane to the Gold Coast, and boy am I happy about that.

12952891_467515573454072_852278558_o

Don’t get me wrong, I liked my life in Canberra, the same way I like jam on toast, but I love the Gold Coast, as much as I love a white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake, you feel me? they’re both equally good on their own, but if given the option, who chooses toast?

I’m thinking about maybe stopping these blogs, even if just for a while, for a few reasons, first and foremost, I feel like all i’m going to be doing is posting about how amazing it is here, posting pictures of the beach and the sunrises and the amazing girls and brag about how my host family is perfect. Even just saying that is annoying so I don’t know if anyone will actually enjoy these. We shall see, the other option is to just make them shorter, like this weeks. Short and sweet and all things neat.

12719179_463998003805829_5443048373675589527_o

Here’s my view every morning. I’m currently sat on the deck looking at the lake now, I know. I mean how did I get so lucky? I’ve already uploaded so many sunrise photos to Instagram and Facebook but i’m up early everyday and I love it. I’ve never been a huge morning person but because everyones awake, with four girls screaming and running around the house is alive so it’s not a problem, also with the view I don’t ever have an issue.

I could go on forever, I do to my friends. Everyday I sent them pictures of the beach or the lake that’s at the end of the garden. I just can’t help but do so because it’s so beautiful. Everything is completely different here, I have so much free time, i’m not on my own with the kids. My host mum is already like my friend/sister rather than an employer, it’s just fabulous. I knew every au pair experience would be different but I wasn’t sure just how different. I can’t really believe how much happier I am here, especially since I was never really that unhappy in Canberra.

Don’t get me wrong, I miss the kids and Sandra and my amazing neighbours, but luckily i’ve been busy with falling in love with this place that i’m able to keep my mind off it.

On my first day at ‘work’ we went to Byron bay. The day after the long easter weekend if always so hard, but this one was without a doubt the best first day at work ever. The families old au pair and I did a weeks changeover, so she could show me around, i’m so glad we did that, even though I felt like I was replacing her and stepping on her toes, she’s lovely and introduced me to people and places which makes my life easier.

12916976_465090673696562_1808026141047074987_o

It’s crazy because people pay to go visit and stay at Byron Bay and I just casually popped there with Bella and Alice. What was crazier is that although it was only an hour drive the time changed once we arrived, not like how time passes and it changes, i’m not that stupid. Byron  Bay is in a different time zone, as it’s in NSW and i’m in Queensland, even though it’s only an hour drive away. MIND BLOWN.

Since arriving the girls (4 girls under 6… someone give my host mum a medal) have been so welcoming and lovely and I’m already besotted. They’re so cheeky it’s hilarious. They don’t just say ‘please’ they say ‘please gorgeous’ and ‘thank you beautiful sexy’, it’s adorable. They’ve all been on Skype or FaceTime to my friends back home, if I say something like ‘god I look so rough today’ Ivy will say ‘NOOO, YOU LOOK PWIDDDDY’. Personal confidence booster, yes thanks.

12962423_467515560120740_424021102_o

Okay, i’m not gonna go on and on. I love it, it’s amazing, everyone lovely and I never wanna leave. On Saturday I woke up at 4.30am like it’s completely normal, to go watch the sunrise over the ocean. Obviously the pictures will never do it justice but my god it was amazing.

12966766_467515546787408_988452722_n.jpg

I know my family and friends like reading these and I feel as though i’ve come this far it’d be silly to stop now ( I know I said before that I would, but we all say things we don’t mean). I think we’ll just keep them short, after all i’m not writing a novel…yet.

 

See you next week (I promise)

Perese Amelia

 

2 thoughts on “WEEK 28- I LOVE THE GOLD COAST. I’M NEVER COMING HOME.

  1. I absolutely love this, and it reminds me so much of my current situation with my new host family in Brisbane. So glad you are having such an amazing time in your new place :) Loved reading your posts and about your au pair experience here in Oz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment