au pairs · Australia · Gold Coast · Travel

WEEK 29- MAKING FRIENDS AND GETTING SWEATY.

For those who know me, or just for those who read these blogs (which is you, obviously) you probably know that I like to stick to my comfort zone. I know i’m in Australia on my own and that’s definitely out of my comfort zone, but i’m living a busy family environment and looking after kids, both things i’m super comfortable with. Does the word comfortable look/sound weird to you? it does to me.

12970681_470012009871095_998858134_o

Anyway… off topic, as usual. This week has been all about getting out of my comfort zone. Physically (hello exercise…goodbye chocolate) and quite literally taking myself into situations i’m uncomfortable with. So this week I went to meet a group of random strangers in the hope to find some friends.

I’m fortunate in that I met some girls from the Gold Coast in Bali, so I knew I would have a fall back- not that they’re fall backs, although Jaylee has already told me she doesn’t read these blogs, so I could just slag her off if I wanted to, she’ll never know. I’m also lucky that my host mum is my friend, I don’t feel as though i’m on my own, because I rarely am. The kids are back at school this week after easter break so I will have loads more free time, which means the search for friends is on!

So I took to Facebook (what’s a modern girl to do) in search for some friends. Now i’d like to quickly point out that I haven’t just been adding random people in the hope some would like me, I would never do that…

12986472_469968479875448_460555352_o

Anyway, why am I rambling so much, again. I met some people from the Au Pair facebook group, they were all lovely. Spent the day at the beach, went to a vegan all you can eat buffet (nobody was vegan, or even vegetarian.. I know, weird) and then we watched SeaFire, a firework and paragliding display on… you guessed it.. the sea.

13015053_470012013204428_1720570739_n

As mentioned in one of my lasts posts and at the top of this one, i’m attempting to get fit ( hence the HUGE photo of my red sweaty gross face above). I stupidly decided to live with an athlete and his hot wife who has had 4 kids but still managed to be featured on FHM, so you can imagine me training with her. I regret telling her I wanted to get fit because she’s like a army officer, shouting at me ‘DO YOU WANNA LOOK GOOD IN A BIKINI’. I told her to do this, no matter how much I moaned, even if i cried, I told her to not give up, and she isn’t.

Sidebar – I do feel comfortable, like i’m always in a bikini at the beach, but I will only be laid flat on my stomach or stood up, you know what I mean? Like I know what works for me but wanna be fine with whatever angle. I JUST WANNA BE ABLE TO SIT UP ON A BEACH WITHOUT LOOKING LIKE A BEACH WHALE, OK?

12999702_469968493208780_419758458_o

So here’s hoping that I actually stick to this and I can go to Thailand so much more comfortable.  I mean today I made cookies and brownies and yet I sit here writing this with a fruit salad, so that in itself is a small victory.

13009820_470011979871098_1077714214_o

 

Now last on this short blog journey, I know you’ve seen 100 of these already, and I know I spoke about the sunrise last week. But heres something I never thought I’d say, and I can almost see Yas and Vérane (My housemates in second and third year at uni who tried both tried on many occasion to get me up to the gym, or to the library all before 8am) looking at me in sheer amazement as I say this.. I am now a morning person (kind of). I go to sleep looking forward to getting up at 6am to seeing the amazing sunrise and just to see what the day has in store. I know, what the hell has happened to me.

12999718_469968506542112_1472538561_o.jpg

Future Perese – Yes i’m talking to myself, you don’t have to read this bit.. carry on with your day. You’re gonna be sad when you look back and see the sunrise pics and remember how much you love waking up to see it every morning, sorry. But I mean, come on, how lucky are/were you to even see this once never mind everyday for 6 (or more.. .more to come on that) months.

Okay I’m done.

See you next week
Thanks for reading!

Perese Amelia

2 thoughts on “WEEK 29- MAKING FRIENDS AND GETTING SWEATY.

  1. A random thought (If you don’t know about it)- You should go on this website http://www.futureme.org where you can write an e-mail to yourself and it’s automatically sent to yourself in like a year or whenever you set it to.
    When you wrote “Future Perese” it made me think of that.

    Glad you’re enjoying the GC, I was just there the other week and I love how warm it is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment